Why You Should Never Eat Soy (unless you’re a Celibate Monk.)

The other day a new friend heard about our new struggle with lyme disease (after a year of being antibiotic free for PANDAS disease) and she suggested a network marketing health product that she sells for Haley’s gut health. “It’s full of good probiotics, I give it to my kids every day!”

Poor thing.  She doesn’t know me well enough to know my about my extreme (some might say obsessive) research and crazy journey this year.  She’d just jumped into my briar patch, and was trapped.

My first question was “Does it have strep strains?”  She’d never heard of them.  I told her why we had to make sure they weren’t in our probiotics.  She pulled up the ingredients list to check for streptococcus strains.  Then I saw it…first ingredient Soy Lecithin.  Second ingredient Soy Protein Isolate.

“Umm, we don’t do soy.”  I tried to be diplomatic.

“Oh, well, our customers who have soy allergies are fine with THIS soy, because our soy isn’t fermented.”  She said.

“Ummmhmmm.  Well, we still can’t do soy.”  At this point, I don’t really know what else to say.  It’s easy for me to voice my opinion to the faceless blog world.  In real life time, I’m a social blunder and a tongue twisted mess. Later, I wondered if I should have told her why no one should EVER give this stuff to their kids.  Especially boys.  And how much effort we’ve gone to to eliminate soy from our diet, and that there is NO WAY I’m going to actually pay for a high priced supplement that is made up of, mostly, SOY.

Instead, I chose to let her out of my briar patch.  Because not everyone wants to be caught up in this web of knowledge.  These things we happily lived with, snacked on, bottle feed, and in her case, sell to our friends and neighbors, is really bad news.  Let’s face it, most people don’t want to know.  It’s much easier to buy your favorite baby formula made with SOY and not research it first.  It’s much easier to buy your favorite Mayonaisse, and Chocolate, and Boxed Cereal, and not spend two extra hours at the grocery store reading the labels on everything you put in your mouth…until you realize that pretty much EVERYTHING that has an ingredient list has soy listed right up at the top.  And if you don’t want to eat it, you’re pretty much going to have to make everything from scratch.  Whaaaaat???? Most of you will want to stop reading now.  For the rest of you, here’s a bit of research to get you to clean out your pantry.

Dr. Mercola’s article: Newest Research on the Dangers of Soy tells about the origin of soy as a food for human consumption, how the Chinese did not eat it unfermented, because in it’s unfermented state it contains large amounts of natural toxins, or “anti-nutrients”, that prohibit protein digestion.  Soybeans also contain a substance that makes red blood cells clump together, called Haemagglutinin (which I’m assuming is latin for GonnaGiveYouAStrokeMan.)  These two baddies are also growth inhibitors.  So, if you want your kiddos to be able to shop in the petite section, feed on, soy.

Soy’s third bad boy is Goitrogens.  These depress healthy thyroid function.  When you’ve had your 4 year old’s blood work come back as “borderline hypothyrdoidism” you’ll take me seriously on this one.  When the nurse tells you to put your little girl on thyroid medication, because she’ll “feel so much better.”  And then you find out the medication is FOR LIFE.  And then your whole family goes grain free Paleo for a year, which includes no soy.  And then you go back to the same doctor, and do they same blood work, and your now 5 year old has a “COMPLETELY NORMAL” thyroid.  You’ll understand why we don’t do soy.  (This is our non-PANDAS, by the way.)

Soybeans are high in Phytic Acid.  Another no-no.  This stuff is the reason we soak and dehydrate our nuts before we eat them.  Yeah, it’s a lot of work, but it’s worth it.  Phytic Acid blocks the absorption of calcium, magnesium, copper, iron, and zinc in the intestines.

Read the nasties about Soy Protein Isolate here.

Of course, if you want to lower your libido, and your goal is to become a celibate monk, soy is your new best friend.  But you’ll also want to keep up on your breast exams, since soy / phytoestrogens may be linked to increased breast cancer.  Don’t have breasts?  It’s also linked to other cancers.  Endocrine disrupting.  Infertility causing.  Infant leukemia.  Soy.  Soy.  Soy.

Personally, we’ll keep paying a dollar more for the chocolate chips without soy.  Cause let’s face it.  Chocolate’s still a big part of our life around here.

That night I struggled with my decision to let my new friend out of my spider web of soy knowledge, without so much as a struggle.  I called my old health nut kindred spirit, Lisa.  She’s my friend that that looks like a model and used to eat soy, until I enlightened her.  She said something that made sense, and lifted my load of soy knowledge guilt.  “Some people will never be open to hearing the truth, about soy, or their diet.  It’s the same thing with God’s word.”  SO TRUE.

I had to have a whole bunch of crap happen to my sweet kiddos before I was willing to make a massive change in the way we eat around here.  It took going through the fire to get my attention.

Sometimes God works that way.

Paul had to be blinded on the road to see the Light.

Noah had to go through the flood to get to the rainbow.

Jesus had to go through the cross to save us from hell.

Makes my trials seem trivial.  Thank God for that.

One response to “Why You Should Never Eat Soy (unless you’re a Celibate Monk.)

  1. Pingback: Why we don’t have a microwave, and other weird stuff I would outlaw if I were Queen of the World | Buttercup Farm·

Leave a Reply

