My informal research “study” on donkey milk and autoimmune disease

I haven’t shared this info because I’ve been selfish.  And busy.  And selfish.

According to the FDA, it’s against the law to sell raw milk, including donkey milk, across state lines.  So we don’t ship our milk, it has to be picked up on our farm in Oklahoma.  And, believe it or not, there isn’t a huge demand for donkey milk in Oklahoma.  So, I share the contact info for the only farmer in the USA who ships his milk anyway.  Because I want people to be able to get it if they need it.  But we won’t break the law to do it.

And I resent that.  I resent that this farmer hasn’t even sent me a Christmas card.  Or a gift card to Tractor Supply.  Or a baby donkey.  Because I’m selfish.  And I need to get over that.  This isn’t about me.  This is about getting information out there that might help someone else get well.  And if that means I have to get over myself and my selfish, mean little self, then Lord, help me to get over it!!!

So, before my selfish nature rears its ugly head, here it is.

Sometimes people don’t believe me, (I know, it’s shocking), but they think that my daughter would have gotten well without the donkey milk, or that she was never really that sick, and that I can’t prove it that it’s helping her, because there isn’t a blood test that shows when her immune system is flaring.  It’s just what I can see in her behaviors.  And I’m her mom, I know.

But, I have a mom friend who’s 11 year old daughter has an autoimmune disease that attacks her kidneys.  And they test her urine every day of her life to see if her immune system is overreacting and attacking her kidneys.  If it is, it shows up as elevated protein in her urine.  Her daughter had been doing fine, so they had lowered her doses of medication.  Then she got the flu.  Her protein levels were elevated and she was worried and considering getting her back on a higher dose of medication.  I asked her if she would give donkey milk a try.  She did.  Within a day her daughter’s levels were back down to trace and then negative.  She ran out of milk and they went back up.  I gave her more, she drank the milk and they went back down to negative and this time they stayed there.  The only thing she changed was adding the donkey milk.

Coincidence?  Maybe.

I have another mom friend who got a horrible autoimmune disease that attacks her muscle tissue, causing her extreme pain and debilitating fatigue.  She was hosptialized and then given steroids to suppress her immune system and lower her dangerously high CK levels (CK for cytokines, I believe.)  After months of being on the steroids, hospitalizations, and making major diet changes, her levels were still in the thousands.

At this point, she tried drinking donkey milk for one week, and she did a few rounds of cryotherapy.  Those were the only changes she made.  That week her levels went from 8,500 t0 7,300, dropping 1,200 points.  The immunologists said it was probably the steroids finally started kicking in.  Prior to this, her levels had been steadily increasing.

The next week they put her on Immuno-suppressants drugs.  She kept drinking the donkey milk along with the immune suppressants (and their nasty side effects.)  Her levels dropped from 7,300 to 6,300. Another 1,000 point drop.

The third week she stopped drinking the donkey milk, and just took the immune suppressants.  Her levels went up by 200 points to 6,500.

Maybe it’s all just coincidental.  Anecdotal.  Maybe.

Dr. Shimaski, the CEO of Moleculera Labs, who developed the one and only test for PANDAS in the world, came to our farm last year to learn more about donkey milk and what we were doing, and then invited us to tour his lab at OU.  The girls loved it almost as much as I did.  They were especially tickled that his receptionist asked if we were the “mule milk” people (mules are sterile).  He was extremely interested in donkey milk, and impressed with how well our daughter was doing without any antibiotics or IVIG.  We gave him donkey milk and he planned to research it, but his work with the Cunningham Panel takes precedence and he hasn’t had time to devote to donkey milk.  So, if you know of any other brilliant researchers out there with a heart for autoimmune disease and alternative methods, I would love to hook them up with some donkey milk to research and figure out a way to put this goodness into a pill form that we could get into the hands of everyone that needs it.  After all, aspirin started out as the bark from a willow tree.  Penicillin…a moldy sandwich.  Why not donkey milk as an alternative to IVIG and daily antibiotics?  Maybe if it was bottled in a gel cap with a child proof cap, people would start to believe in it.

Our Pediatrician, a well known MD who is also a Naturopath, who treats many PANDAS kiddos, looks at our daughter and is amazed that she’s doing so well, without antibiotics or IVIG. Her only question for me is “How do we get donkey milk into the hands of all the people that need it?”  Good question.

Now, I need to go spend some time asking for forgiveness for not blogging about this for months, because I’m a selfish person who put getting a thank you card from a farmer in a higher place of importance than sharing this with people it might help.

Forgive me.  Unfollow me.  I understand.  I wouldn’t follow me either.

But if you are a kind soul who still wants to support us, and our donkeys feed bill, and this blog that I have sorely neglected, you can always buy our Donkey Milk Soap at Dulce de Donké.  At least it’s not illegal to ship across state lines.  Yet.

Prayers for all your sweet kiddos, for health, and peace, and a day when this awful disease doesn’t have a grip on one more child.  Even if that day doesn’t come until Jesus fixes this mess.

Amen.

And a photo of one of our newborn donkeys, to lighten up this heavy, guilt ridden post.  Did I mention we’ve been busy?

dsc_0012

 

 

5 responses to “My informal research “study” on donkey milk and autoimmune disease

  1. I live in Midwest City and I would like to buy some donkey milk. Are you selling it?

    jerry…

    On Sat, Jul 15, 2017 at 11:27 PM, Buttercup Farm wrote:

    > goodworksguild posted: “I haven’t shared this info because I’ve been > selfish. And busy. And selfish. According to the FDA, it’s against the > law to sell raw milk, including donkey milk, across state lines. So we > don’t ship our milk, it has to be picked up on our farm in Oklah” >

    • Hi Jerry, yes, but we only sell it to people with health issues that need it, and by Oklahoma law, all raw milk has to be picked up at the farm / source…so you would have to come to us to get it. Can you email me through the contact us page? I’ll get you more info that way…? Thanks and God Bless!

  2. Thank you for sharing all this. I hope and pray a researcher will take on the donkey milk and figure out a way to get it into pill form….whatever is the key ingredient. Our daughter is on antibiotics and IVIG and I wish there was another way to treat her.

  3. Thanks for sharing! Dr. Steven Rondeau works out of the Wholeness Center in Fort Collins,CO and has many PANDAS patients, works with alternative treatments, and may be willing to research Donkey Milk.

    -A Hopeful/Desperate PANDAS Mom

    • Thank you Beth! I will try to get in touch with him. If you see him, would you mind sharing my blog? We would be happy to work with him if he’s willing to try. God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

